Maurice Barnes Appointed ECJ Commissioner

KINGSTON, Jamaica – The Electoral Commission of Jamaica is advising that Governor-General His Excellency The Most Honourable Sir Patrick Allen has appointed Mr. Maurice Barnes to serve as Selected Commissioner on the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ), effective November 1, 2021.With the appointment of Mr. Barnes, the ECJ now has the full complement of Commissioners.

Mr. Barnes comes to the ECJ with over two decades of experience and expertise in the field of Information Technology (IT) and is an advocate for innovation. He is expected to make a contribution to further developing the ECJ/EOJ’s (Electoral Office of Jamaica) technology framework and capabilities.

The other Selected Commissioners are the Honourable Earl Jarrett (Chairman), the Honourable Justice Karl Harrison and the Honourable Justice Zaila McCalla.

The Electoral Commission comprises nine members. There are: four Selected (independent) Commissioners, four Nominated Commissioners (two nominated on the advice of the Prime Minister and two on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition) and the Director of Elections.


Leave a Reply