Julian Robinson Appointed ECJ Commissioner

KINGSTON, Jamaica – Governor-General His Excellency The Most Honourable Sir Patrick Allen has, on the advice of the Leader of the Opposition, Dr. Peter Phillips, appointed Julian Robinson to serve as Nominated Commissioner on the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ), effective July 1, 2017.

Honourable Dorothy Pine-McLarty (3rd right), Chairman of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ) welcomes newly appointed ECJ Nominated Commissioner Julian Robinson (centre) who presented his Instrument of Appointment at a meeting of the Commission on Wednesday, July 12. They are joined by fellow Commissioners (l-r) Dr. Donald K. Duncan, Nominated Commissioner (PNP); Honourable Justice Karl Harrison and Earl Jarrett, Selected Commissioners; Orrette Fisher, Director of Elections and Professor Alvin Wint, Selected Commissioner.

Mr. Robinson succeeds former Nominated Commissioner Paul Burke, whose appointment ended on June 30, 2017. Dr. Donald K. Duncan is the other PNP Nominated Commissioner with whom he will serve.

Mr. Robinson is currently Member of Parliament for the constituency of St. Andrew South Eastern, Opposition Spokesperson on Information and the Knowledge Economy and General Secretary of the People’s National Party.

The Electoral Commission is comprised of nine members. There are: four Selected (independent) Commissioners, four Nominated Commissioners (two representing the Prime Minister and two representing the Leader of the Opposition) and the Director of Elections.

Leave a Reply