Governor General Appoints Two New ECJ Commissioners

Governor-General His Excellency The Most Honourable Sir Patrick Allen has appointed the following four persons to serve as the selected members of the Electoral Commission of Jamaica (ECJ), effective March 1, 2014.  They are the Hon. Dorothy Pine McLarty, OJ, Mr. Earl Jarrett, CD, the Hon. Mr. Justice Karl Harrison (Ret’d), CD and Professor Alvin Wint.

Mr. Justice Harrison is a retired Court of Appeal judge and Professor Wint is Professor of International Business and Special Advisor to the Vice Chancellor of the University of the West Indies.  They join Mr. Jarrett and the Mrs. Pine McLarty, both of whom served on the previous  ECJ,  and replace the two selected Commissioners who were not available for reappointment: Dr. Herbert Thompson CD and the Hon. Mr. Justice Clarence Walker, CD.

King’s House made the announcement in a press release.

Leave a Reply