Jamaica’s Administrative Structure

International Country Code: JM
Type of Government: Parliamentary Democracy
Capital: Kingston
Administrative Divisions: 14 parishes; Clarendon, Hanover, Kingston, Manchester, Portland, St. Andrew, St. Ann, St. Catherine, St. Elizabeth, St. James, St. Mary, St. Thomas, Trelawny, and Westmoreland.
Independence: 6 August 1962 (from United Kingdom)
Legal System: Based on English Common Law.
Suffrage: 18 years of age; universal.
Executive Branch: Head of State: QUEEN ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by a Governor-General.
Head of Government: Prime Minister.
Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the Governor-General on the advice of the Prime Minister.
Legislative Branch: Bi-cameral Parliament
Senate: Consists of a 21-member body appointed by the Governor-General. 13 persons on the advice of the Prime Minister and 8 persons on the recommendation of the Leader of The Opposition.
House of Representatives: Consists of 63 elected officials from a General Election. (3rd September 2020)
Judicial Branch: Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (Great Britain) Court of Appeal of Jamaica. The Supreme Court of Jamaica, Resident Magistrates Courts, Petty Sessions Courts.