Jamaica's Administrative Structure


International Country Code: JM
Type of Government:  Parliamentary Democracy
Capital:  Kingston
Administrative Divisions:  14 parishes; Clarendon, Hanover, Kingston, Manchester, Portland, St. Andrew, St. Ann, St. Catherine, St. Elizabeth, St. James, St. Mary, St. Thomas, Trelawny, and Westmoreland.
Independence:  6 August 1962 (from UK)
Legal System:  Based on English Common Law.
Suffrage:  18 years of age; universal.
Executive Branch:  Head of State: QUEEN ELIZABETH II (since 6 February 1952), represented by a Governor-General. 
  Head of Government: Prime Minister.
  Cabinet: Cabinet appointed by the Governor-General on the advice of the Prime Minister.
Legislative Branch:  Bi-cameral Parliament
  Senate: Consists of a 21-member body appointed by the Governor-General. 13 persons on the advice of the Prime Minister and 8 persons on the recommendation of the Leader of The Opposition.
  House of Representatives: Consists of 63 elected officials from a General Election. (last held 25th February 2016)
Judicial Branch:  Judicial Committee of the Privy Council (Great Britain) Court of Appeal of Jamaica. The Supreme Court of Jamaica, Resident Magistrates Courts, Petty Sessions Courts.


Latest Twitter

Contact Electoral Commission of Jamaica

43 Duke Street, Kingston, Jamaica
Tel: (876)-922-0425-9
Toll Free: 1-888-991-VOTE (8683)
 Fax: (876) 922-4058